Uncategorized

On The Record – A Forgotten Musical Experience

Back in 2004, Disney wanted to create a stage show that would showcase their vast catalogue of songs without the need for any type of screen. What they eventually came up with was On the Record, a jukebox musical revue that showcased 75 years of Disney music. The production toured for 9 months in America, visiting 24 cities before closing in mid 2005 due to a poor audience response. The show was criticised as being ‘basic’ and ‘unimpressive’ but critics couldn’t deny that it had a talented cast. One cast member, Ashley Brown, was subsequently thrown into the world of Disney Theatricals playing both Belle and Mary Poppins to great success on Broadway.

I was first introduced to the On The Record CD about six years ago through a Disney podcast I still listen to on occasion called Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Pod, and I fell in love with the various mixes of some of my favourite songs. Sadly unavailable through iTunes, I purchased the CD through Amazon’s American outlet and it has become one of my most treasured Disney discs. Over recent years I feel like it’s a piece of forgotten Disney music history because despite the lack of success the show had, the mixes continue to be fantastic and entertain me whenever I need a good pick-me-up. I haven’t listened to it in a while but I do get giddy whenever one of the mixes is played on radiodisneyclub because it is something that isn’t played that often.

All the songs on the CD are split into various sessions. Some of these are stand alone songs, one example being A Dream is A Wish Your Heart Makes, and others are ingenious mixes based on different themes. Sometimes the genders in the songs are switched and because it works well, it is a great change. Each session also transitions into another and it makes for a smooth listening experience (maybe more on CD than on YouTube itself but it’s still enjoyable)

Like I said, I really love this CD and all these mixes so thanks to the brilliance of YouTube I can share with you some of my favourites:

  • Can You Feel The Love Tonight/I Won’t Say I’m In Love/Let’s Get Together/Belle
  • I Just Can’t Wait to be King/Lavender Blue
  • You Can Fly
  • A Change in Me

Here is the whole playlist, so let’s help to keep this CD alive!

Thanks for reading/listening and have a brazzle dazzle day!

 

Leave a Reply

