Uncategorized

T5F – Favourite Villains

Hi everyone and welcome to the first of October’s Halloween Top 5 Friday topics.

This week is all about the villains.

Now I’m going to admit straight away that I’m unconventional when it comes to the Disney villains. I’m much more of a fan of the comical villains, and those that are perhaps often overlooked by the villains we automatically think of.

Without further ado, let’s get started:

Madam Mim from Sword in the Stone

Image result for madam mim

What I particularly like about Madam Mim is that she doesn’t come off as particularly threatening. She looks all evil and villainous but her villainy is comical and never does Merlin or Arthur any harm.

Cruella De Vil from 101 Dalmatians

Image result for Cruella de vil

Her description of “if she doesn’t scare you, no evil thing will,” has never really applied to me. I always liked her sass and her blatant disregard for the people she backstabs, even though her desires are truly evil.

Yzma from Emperor’s New Groove

Image result for yzma

For me she is what makes the Emperor’s New Groove so fantastic. I like her determination and stubbornness at wanting to be all powerful because it is done in such a comical way. She acts as the mad scientist and it’s really funny to see all her plans blow up in front of her. Also, similarly to Cruella she is full of sass and class!

Mother Gothel from Tangled

Image result for mother gothel

This is where I become more traditional with my villains even if she is still one of the newer ones. She might not be as intimidating as some of the more scarier villains but she does have a way of making me stop and think about how we as humans can easily hurt others just by what we say and how we act, even if we don’t always come across as evil – it’s subtle but I think she pulls it off brilliantly.

Professor Rattigan from Basil the Great Mouse Detective

Image result for professor ratigan

There’s not much I can say about Rattigan apart from that he is pure evil and I love it! Oh, and also his brilliant voice acting by Vincent Price. Very chilling and convincing!

So that is it.

Who are your favourite villains?

Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!

4 thoughts on “T5F – Favourite Villains

  1. Cruella De Vil used to scare me a lot when I was a kid. We used to watch the life-action movie and that one was pretty scary when I was little. Those poor dogs! Why would you make coats out of them?!

    Like

    1. What she does is terrible and humanely evil but for some reason I just never found her all that scary, especially compared to Maleficent and Ursula who truly terrified me when I was little! Plus in the live action version of 101 Dalmatians I love it when all the animals thwart her and she lands in that sticky brown slime!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha yeah the slime thing was really funny, but for some reason I found it really scary that she kidnapped those dogs and wanted to kill them

        Like

Leave a Reply

