Uncategorized

Classics I Want to Re-watch

We’ve all got our favourite animated films that we replay over and over again because we can’t get enough of them. Then we’ve got those films that we always intend on watching again but we put them off because something else takes our fancy.

I want to tackle the latter – those films that I know I like but always seem to get left behind. And what’s worse is that most of them are underrated classics, not given the appreciation that they all deserve. For now I’ve chosen five but I don’t doubt that this selection will grow, bringing in other forgotten films that warrant some loving care and attention.

The Fox and the Hound

Image result for the fox and the hound

This was one of the videos that I used to keep at my grandmother’s house and as I spent more than enough time there when I was younger, I don’t doubt that it was replayed a lot. However those days are certainly gone because whilst I now own the dvd, I don’t think it has been watched. Until it was on Sky Movies Disney a month back, I can’t remember the last time I watched it and it’s a shame because it was one of those that I loved.

The Rescuers

Image result for the rescuers

It was only when I was watching BBC’s Pointless the other day that I realised I needed to re-watch this at some point (they had anagrams of animated mice and Miss Bianca was an answer – alongside Mickey Mouse of course). Possibly I forget about this film because it wasn’t a popular classic for me or my sister but whenever I did watch it, I always liked it. With this, it’s a similar case to the Fox and the Hound –  I have the dvd but I don’t think it’s ever been played.

The Emperor’s New Groove

Image result for the emperor's new groove

This was an early 2000s film that completely passed me by. Growing up I didn’t watch any of the new releases from the late 90s and early 2000s (unless they were PIXAR) and yet that’s mine and my sister’s era of Disney animation. What got me to watch it for the first time a couple of years ago was a recommendation from an unlikely source – a good friend of mine who is not a Disney fan – and it was brilliant. I should have known that I would have liked it because I always used to watch the Disney Channel spin off, the Emperor’s New School, and I saw the direct to video sequel Kronk’s New Groove a couple of times whenever it was on the old Cinemagic channel. It’s full of the modern Disney flair and one of those films that I should stop glossing over and re-watch.

Oliver and Company

Image result for oliver and company

Another film that should have been part of my Disney vhs collection growing up but wasn’t. It’s also Oliver Twist in animated form and that’s one of my favourite Dickens books (not that I’ve read many of them).

Lilo and Stitch

Image result for lilo and stitch

I never understood the obsession with Stitch until I watched this film for the first time a few years ago. This film is a gem within the Disney vault because it’s one of those made during the 2000s that experiments with wacky characters yet contains a lot of heart and positive messages. I think I’ve only seen it once but I’ve never forgotten what it teaches us about family and finding love in unlikely places.

And that’s it.

What films would you want to re-watch?

Have a brazzle dazzle day!

 

Leave a Reply

