Uncategorized

The Disneyland Paris Hotel

Hi.

To all who come to this first Disneyland Paris at 25 post…welcome!

Out of everything I have considered for this series, I’m starting off with the Disneyland Hotel.

To me, there is no better beginning. After all, it is the entrance to the park and probably one of the most beautiful out there (a statement entirely filled with bias – hehe).

disneyland_hotel___park_entrance2

Image result for disneyland hotel disneyland paris

Inside is also breathtaking and incredibly stylish.

Related image

In terms of the design, what I like the most is the juxtaposition of the pink, fantasy, princess-esque facade with the Victorian, turn of the century feel of the interior. It’s as if the castle and Main Street USA have come together and amalgamated in the best possible way to create the ultimate hotel, but still intertwining some of those little Disney details that truly put the icing on the cake. For example, Fantasia, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, and Tinkerbell all show their presence in one way or another.

It’s regal, classy, and one of the best places to relax and look around if you want a short break from the parks.

I have a few special memories of the Disneyland Hotel, as it was a quieter place where my father and I would sit, relax and contemplate on the whole Disneyland Paris experience. Finally being in a place where I could freely share my love for Disney was one of the best feelings in the world, and I’ll never forget that. So much so, it was a huge surprise when we stayed there back in 2010, and up until then, that year was the best trip we’d had. I don’t know if I can entirely put it down to staying in the Disneyland but it was certainly part of it. Somedays we just didn’t want to leave, and when it did get too hot to be in the parks, we happily spent most of the day relaxing in our room or in another part of the hotel.

Another thing I love about the hotel is the character meet and greets and often spontaneous interactions between them. A few times when my sister and I were walking from one part of the hotel to another, we came across characters (Eeyore, Gepetto, Pluto, Donald) and we were a couple of the only guests in the immediate vicinity. It was great. I got some of my best character photos on that trip as well so I definitely cannot complain.

If there was a downside, it would be that the pool is just a bit on the small side compared to pools in some of the other hotels. However, that is only minor and doesn’t take anything away from the experience of staying in a hotel of this calibre.


Fun Facts:

The architecture of the hotel takes its inspiration from the Hotel Del Coronado in San Diego.

The facade was originally intended to be painted white, but Imagineers didn’t want it to be seen as uninviting and cold. Pink was a more suitable colour as it was associated with summer, warmth, abundance, and wealth. And it is more visible from the distance, giving more guests the chance to see it and realise that they were close to the park.

It was also planned to be two-dimensional, simply giving the guests the feel that they were walking under/through a hotel into the park. However, from a budgetary point of view, it was very unrealistic and thus expanding the idea and building the hotel we see today.

It has added finer details to create a forced perspective so that the proportions of the building don’t make Main Street USA smaller than it actually is.


Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day.

4 thoughts on “The Disneyland Paris Hotel

    1. Disneyland Paris is the only Disney park I’ve been to so it’s special for me. It’s also the closest! I’m planning on posting the second instalment later this week/early next week, hopefully once I’ve managed to fix the schedule.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

