Uncategorized

Song Bites – Beauty and the Beast

The live action Beauty and the Beast has had a big week this week. First off Disney released the full theatrical trailer, and then a couple of days ago they gave us the pop version of the title track , sung by Ariana Grande and John Legend.

In just a few days it is one of the most popular topics across social media and I also consider it to be highly controversial.

Beauty and the Beast – Ariana Grande and John Legend

When I first heard who was going to cover the song, I wasn’t keen. Let me make it clear that I have nothing against Ariana Grande as a person or a singer but personally I thought that her voice wouldn’t suit this song. Now I’ve listened to a couple of times, I still hold to that opinion. I think her vocals are a little raspy and nasal and that doesn’t match with a song that ought to be gentile, smooth, and clear.

On the other hand I think John Legend’s voice is alright but again it falters slightly. I feel like it has nothing to do with their vocal ability but the orchestration of the music.

For a song that will be playing over the end credits, its jumpiness and odd change in notes lends itself more to the style of the Disney Mania CDs released in the early 2000s. I can’t feel the emotion, or picture Belle and Beast waltzing around the ballroom like I do with the original tracks, and even with the cover recorded by the Steps duo H&Claire again in the early 2000s.

I know it is meant to be a pop track but for me it sounds a bit too cheesy for such a classic.

Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson

H & Claire – Beauty and the Beast


Have you listened to it?
What do you think?


Thanks for reading/listening and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

Leave a Reply

