Uncategorized

T5F – Favourite Words and Phrases

Hello!

Welcome back to Top Five Friday and this time I’m diving into another one of my interests that often interlocks with Disney – words and language. I won’t get too much into my reasoning but it mainly came out of my love for reading and etymology and when I started thinking about it in relation to Disney, it reminded me that there were a lot of fantastic words that evoke many different memories and classic moments.

As there was no way I could narrow all these fictional words to 5, I have chosen those that particularly stand out for me.

1# Brazzle Dazzle Day! 

The title of a song in the original Pete’s Dragon, it signifies a lot more to me than just having a good day. It tells me that there are better times on the horizon and that you can find happiness despite the darkness. Now there doesn’t seem to be any wonder why I have chosen to use this phrase to end all my posts!

2# Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

I don’t think the Sherman Brothers knew what they were getting into when they created this word for Mary Poppins. Describing it as a word to say when you don’t know what to say is certainly how I’d define Mary Poppins and the legacy it has brought to everyone involved. Although according to online dictionaries, it is commonly defined as “extraordinarily good” or “wonderful.” As well as being fun to say, and how I love the feel of the word in my mouth, I find its etymology interesting.

According to Richard Sherman, it was a word they knew in their youth and that it originated from double-talk words ( a form of speech in which inappropriate, invented, or nonsense words are used to give the appearance of knowledge as to confuse or amuse the audience) that both of brothers created.

The song is one of my favourites and I particularly love the adapted stage version, especially when they spell it out using gestures!

3# Twitterpated

Who knew that Bambi would help to create one of the first fictional Disney words that would eventually enter the Oxford English Dictionary – and I didn’t even realise it was an entry until I came across it whilst using Dictionary.com! The cuteness of this adjective is everything and I can’t help saying it in a childlike manner.

4# Bibbidi-bobbidi-boo

The Fairy Godmother also has a lot to answer for, making this word seep into my consciousness whenever I am writing or thinking of anything to do with Cinderella. But it’s so full of good magic that I overlook its capacity to constantly get stuck in my head.

5# Substitutiary Locomotion

I have no real reason behind why I love this phrase, except that the song is probably my favourite from Bedknobs and Broomsticks. It’s also a classic Sherman Brother’s turn of phrase and when they twist it to say “I don’t want locomotiary substitution” it continues to show me that they were really clever in how they could create these double-twist words that stand the test of time.

Anyway, that’s it from me.

Are there any Disney fictional words and phrases that you love?


Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

Leave a Reply

