Uncategorized

The Blogger Recognition Award

Bonjour mes amis!

Today’s post comes in the form of the Blogger Recognition Award and I was nominated twice in the last few days by Charlie at That is the Spell and by Amy over at Scariel’s Grotto. A huge thank you to the both of you!

I love posts like these because they are complimentary of all the different blogs out there, and I am always appreciative of tags such as this.

Also, this is not the first time I have received this particular award on this blog. I was nominated all the way back in October by the lovely Lia at Lost in A Story, so if you want to see that original post, you can look here. If you are a fan of books and are a budding writer then I recommend taking a look at her blog as she has some great advice and content.

Anyway, this blog has grown a lot since then and so I’m more than happy to share anything else about blogging that I have learnt!

Rules are as follows:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Write a post to show your reward
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you created

1

How my blog started:

This blog started in June of last year but it wasn’t the first time that I turned to blogging and Disney blogging in particular. About 10/11 years or so ago I developed a much wider interest in Disney and as people around me thought I was completely crazy, I turned to blogging and the online community in the hope of finding other people who were in the same boat. Using Google’s Blogger as my initial platform, it was easy to start writing and just see where it was heading. However, similarly to Moana’s father I never seemed to successfully cross the threshold and alongside my growing university workload, I ended up allowing the blog to fall by the wayside.

Last year when I was making a splash in the online book community with my book blog (A Dreamer’s Library), I decided to restart my Disney blog, change platforms, and get back in touch with aspects of the community I always enjoyed. What’s funny is that I have Amy to thank for that as well, because it was her Disney Era tag (starting with the Golden Era) that really got me writing again and having fun with it!

Advice for new bloggers:

Don’t worry about making everything perfect. Blogging and writing is a learning experience so when you start off, don’t feel that you have to re-write a post over and over again until it is grammar and word perfect. I know I can be guilty of this sometimes, but at the end of the day, it’s not important. If you are conscious about it, then yes feel free to read over your post and check it but it’s not an educational essay that will be rigorously reviewed. We all write for fun and perfection doesn’t come into it.

Write when you want. When I first started blogging, I got it into my head that I should always be writing new posts and constantly coming up with ideas. It took me a while to realise that it doesn’t work like that and we can’t constantly be tapping on our keyboards when life is there moving us along at varying paces. Things crop up, stuff happens, and more often than once you will find that there is a more than a few days gap between your last and current post. If you can blog every day, that’s great. If it’s every couple of days, great. If it is for a few hours a week, that’s great too! Time is an entity we have no control over so how much we set aside for writing and coming up with posts has to work for us, otherwise the pressure sets in and it’s not fun anymore.

And that is that.

Of course, I won’t be able to come up with 15 blogs, and I guarantee that many of you following and reading this particular blog will have been tagged already so my select few are…

Avi and Vishwa from Panic at the Bookstore
Mandy from Book Princess Reviews 
Lucy from Duffy Does Disney
Eleanor from Eleanor May


Thanks so much for reading, and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

