Uncategorized

Disney Challenge – Favourite Song

Hello!

Welcome back to the 31 Day Disney Challenge.

I’ve decided that I will try to do this every day, just for the fun of it, and today’s question is my favourite song.

I always hate this one question because it is never set in stone – it always changes depending on the situation.

I suppose right now one of my favourites is

If You Can Dream – written for the Disney Princess Franchise

Written, produced and arranged by Robbie Buchanan and Jay Landers, this particular song is the first to promote the Disney Princess Franchise through music. Focusing more on the original and Renaissance princesses, the lyrics are attuned to their desire for romance, and moving on with their lives after the events of their films. Nowadays I don’t always like romance to be the key aspect in moving a story along, but here it fits because it is such a big part of the original tales and the characteristics of the princesses. They all dreamt about love and alongside other circumstances, it is what motivated them – especially Snow White, Aurora, and Cinderella – to change their lives around.

What I like about the song in particular is that the lyrics for each princess are personally connected to them:

Snow White:

Someday my prince will come
It’s certain as the sunrise

Cinderella

One day the slipper fits
And you see the love in his eyes.

Belle:

It’s the tale as old as time.
There’s no mountain we can’t climb

Pocahontas:

The colours of the wind will lead
My heart right back to you

etc…

In terms of films and promotion, it is often sung in the Disney Princess dvds and it is always on the compilation albums dedicated to the franchise. The first was the Disney Princess: Ultimate Song Collection but I came across it for the first time on the Now That’s What I Call Disney Princess album.

What I love in particular is that nearly all of the original voice actresses come back to reprise their roles – Jodi Benson, Paige O’Hara, Judy Kuhn and Lea Salonga. Susan Stevens-Logan voices Snow White (replacing Adriana Caselotti) and Christie Hauser voices both Cinderella and Aurora (replacing Illene Woods and Mary Costa).

Disney Princesses as a franchise is a discussion for another day, but I do like the fact that there is a song that relates to them as whole. Some might see it as outdated as it was written before Tiana, Rapunzel and Merida joined the line up but in my mind that should give any song writers the motivation to write another track and keep things fresh.

I am also grateful that Disneyland Paris have decided to play it at the end of Illuminations. When I watched it on Youtube a few weeks ago I was taken aback by the use of If You Can Dream, and I think that it is a nice song to end with because I bet it is very rare that it is used outside of the Disney Princess franchise.

Anyway, I’ll quit rambling.

Do you like the song?
Do you think it fits in DLP’s Illuminations?


Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

Leave a Reply

