Uncategorized

Once Upon A Disney Blog Songbook

Hello!

Today is the start of the OUADB Songbook. That trip down into the vault to re-discover and fall in love with all the amazing songs that Disney have written over the years. I’ve loved Disney music ever since I was little and sometimes it is all I want to listen to.

My motivations aren’t truly selfish though because this is a way of sharing all that music with you lovely followers and fellow Disney fans.

A lot of different things influenced me to start this – my Through the Decades post, and the top 100 Disney Songs done by Aaron Wallace on his Disney Podcast Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Pod. I’ve not listened to that for ages but when I kept thinking about posts that would incorporate music, I constantly kept coming back to the idea of a ranking and then realising that I don’t have the time to plan that sort of post. Showcasing one or two songs from each film, tv programme, theme park, is more my style.

My thinking is two songs per post – one major song, and one that is not so well known.

To start off with, two songs that are connected to Mickey Mouse or the Sensational Six!

The Mickey Mouse March 

Composed by Mickey Mouse Club Host, Jimmie Dodd, this song kick started the ABC show of the same name. Since then, it has become the theme tune for Mickey Mouse and can be heard across the Disney properties. Having never watched the MMC, even the series with many of the ’90s pop stars like Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Christina Aguilera, I didn’t come across this song until I heard it on the compilation album The Best Disney Album in the World. It is a great song for everyone who wants to be a part of the club that keeps on growing!

The second song that I don’t think is as popular, but requires some love is:

Minnie’s Yoo Hoo

This isn’t the original track but it is the one I love the most. Minnie’s Yoo Hoo was written for the 1930s short film of the same name and this is probably one of the first Disney songs ever produced. It’s a cracking little tune and really catchy. I don’t hear it often but I think it is included as part of the music reel for Main Street USA in any of the Disney Parks.  I’m pretty certain I’ve heard it on the DLP 15th Anniversary CD.

Anyway. That’s it for now. Next time will be Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

And feel free to cast your votes for which Snow White songs will get the attention and be included in the Songbook!


Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

 

Leave a Reply

