Uncategorized

Sleeping Beauty Retellings

Sleeping Beauty Retellings

Hello!

Welcome back to my bookish retellings and this time I am back onto fairy tales and bringing you Sleeping Beauty, Disney’s third princess tale from 1959. It would be a thirty year gap between this film and The Little Mermaid, so in my mind this makes the story of Sleeping Beauty an even greater classic.

I also prefer this film and story in general so it is great that there are quite a few retellings that pique my interest.

Copy of 6in x 2in – Untitled Design

So before we all fall asleep for hundreds of years, let’s get to it:

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn
A Long Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan
A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
Once Upon A Time: A Twisted Tale by Liz Braswell
Gathering Frost by Kaitlyn Davis
Beauty by Sheri S Tepper
Spindle by EK Johnston (this one is the second in a series but from what I’ve read of this book already, it is perfectly okay as a standalone)
Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross
Wide Awake Princess by E.D. Baker
Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

Copy of 6in x 2in – Untitled Design

And that is that.

Of course if I have missed any good ones off, feel free to drop them down into the comments so that we can all check them out!

Copy of 6in x 2in – Untitled Design

Thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

 

6 thoughts on “Sleeping Beauty Retellings

  1. A few others for your list:
    Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley
    Beauty in Thorns by Kate Forsyth
    While Beauty Slept by Elizabeth Blackwell
    The Gates of Sleep by Mercedes Lackey (part of her Elemental Masters series but the books all work as stand alones).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I found Beauty to be a little too close to the original tale for my taste. I felt like, why bother? I did like McKinley’s other Beauty and the Beast story (Rose Daughter) and I liked Spindle’s End. I think both did something a bit different with the source material.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Whilst I know the original tale, I haven’t actually read it yet so I don’t know if that would be the case for me or not. I also didn’t know McLinley had another BatB retelling so I’ll have to take a look at that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

