Uncategorized

Underrated Songs

 

UNDERRATED

Hello!

You know the most popular of Disney songs, the ones that are always included on every new compilation album and those that the Disney parks cannot do without. They’re Disney anthems, songs nearly all of us know by heart.

But what about those songs that are underused, underrated, and often forgotten?

I cannot speak for everyone and so I have no idea what everyone else’s underrated songs are, but here are a few that I personally love and rarely hear.

Oh and there might be more than one song from the same film, because I’m bad and can’t decide which one I’d prefer to mention.

Copy of Normal Blog Border

The Beautiful Briny Sea and also Substitutiary Locomotion from Bedknobs and Broomsticks

I believe all the songs from this film to be underrated and forgotten but these are two of my particular favourites. To me Beautiful Briny Sea is the Bedknobs equivalent of Jolly Holiday from Mary Poppins and since this was originally written for Mary Poppins, I can’t help but think if this was the song replaced by Jolly Holiday. They’re very similar in terms of their storytelling, and I love that vibe.

Moving onto Substitutiary Locomotion, it is a classic Sherman Brother’s track that is really fun. It’s got the wordplay and the rhythm that makes it really catchy and impossible not to sing to – that is if you can get over the tongue twisters. One line I love in particular is:

“I don’t want locomotiary substitution, or remote intransitory convolution. Only one precise solution is the key. Substitutiary Locomotion they must be.”

If I want to make another passing similarity to Mary Poppins, all the chaos and objects flying around are reminiscent of the end of Spoonful of Sugar.

In fact there are a lot of similarities to be made between the two films, so I’ll leave it there before I start rambling. (Maybe that’s a blog post for another time)

Copy of Normal Blog Border

There’s Room For Everyone and Brazzle Dazzle Day from Pete’s Dragon 

I’ll try not to ramble too much but Room for Everybody is one of those songs that needs coming back every few years. It’s full of amazing messages about inclusion and it works well for modern Disney with the addition of Star Wars and Marvel to the Disney universe.

Brazzle Dazzle Day is my favourite song from the original Pete’s Dragon. It’s all about having fun, being joyous, and enjoying life. It always puts a smile on my face whenever I hear it and it is a song that needs to be appreciated more because it is very uplifting.

Copy of Normal Blog Border

Heaven’s Light from The Hunchback of Notre Dame

For such a short song, it is incredibly beautiful and moving. It is the pinnacle of Quasimodo coming to terms with his feelings and his outlook on life, and yet it seems to be forgotten. I don’t know what else Disney could use it for but I wish it would be remembered as much as some of the other songs from the film.

Copy of Normal Blog Border

Look Through My Eyes from Brother Bear

This film has a fabulous soundtrack and it gets lost into the ether. This is one of the most underrated songs from the soundtrack and one I wish would be used more often. It fits the messages that Disney is throwing out at the moment and it is one of those songs that will always be relevant.

Copy of Normal Blog Border

Human Again from Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast is one of Disney’s most popular films, and there is no denying that fact but if there is one song that gets forgotten, it is Human Again. As it was originally cut from the film, I can understand why it is not as well known as the others, but since the West End/Broadway show as well as the release of the extended version of the animated film, it has come into its own. Of course with the addition of a few new songs to the Live Action film, it has also been left out of that one too, which is a shame because it’s a good song and one I love dearly.

Copy of Normal Blog Border

And as I can’t think of any more songs, that will be it for the time being.

What songs do you think are underrated?

Copy of Normal Blog Border

So thanks for reading and have a brazzle dazzle day!
xx

2 thoughts on “Underrated Songs

  1. I really love the songs from Bedknobs & Broomsticks because the film was one of my favourites (along with Mary Poppins) when I was younger. The tongue twisters in Substitutiary Locomotion are wonderful and such fun – Treguna Mekoides Trecorum Satis Dee! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

